As I mentioned yesterday, since I had been treating myself all weekend it has been extremely hard to get my mind set back on the healthy track. This morning and last night my cravings were intense and I could not resist! I came home from work very late and I will admit to eating a nice size of ice cream and some fudge. It was oh so good. I had been starving at work and planned to come home and just sleep but that was impossible as my stomach kept growling. However instead of grabbing some fruit, veggies, or cottage cheese I went straight to the freezer. There was a new kind of Phillies ice cream with chocolate and graham, all I have to say is delicious! This morning it was calling my name too even after I ate breakfast! I know I am so ashamed of myself.

However, I got up the courage to get my butt to the gym and it felt so good to feel my muscles working hard and that is the best motivation for me. I tried reading some health magazines but my mind was not in it. Everyone says exercise and healthy eating go hand in hand. I definitely agree it works the best for me. After putting in all the effort and hard work who wants to throw it all away with some crap food that is nutrient dense and will not fuel your workouts either. While working out I could feel the ice cream, it did not feel so good. Now I know why ice cream is not on the list for pre-workout or breakfast food!

These past couple months I have had great will power in saying no to junk foods and simply telling my mind they are not in my nutrient meal plan. As I struggle to get back on track, I know I will get there because I have gotten there before and it is all in how much we want it and how much we are willing to work for it. Here’s a great article for getting back on track and making steps towards your goals http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/12_fitness_planning_steps.htm  And another great one for pre and post workout meals http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/pre-and-post-meals-bookend-your-workouts.html

I just want to stress that for me it is not all about just being SKINNY. My goals are to gain muscle strength as well as be lean. This is why I am doing a muscle gaining and cutting phase. I want to feel and be strong in my body and my mind. By being strong enough to say no to the bad food most of the time and rewarding my body with nutritious food it can use to fuel my lifestyle and workouts, and in turn my body will grown in strength and endurance. My body and mind will be healthy, which is what we all strive for. I have learned so much about what food can do for your body and it really is the best medicine for your body. When I look at junk food and I know how much extra sodium, salt, etc. is in there and that is not what my body needs, so that helps me avoid junk. I eat to live not live to eat. My clean eating and whole foods method works to fuel my workouts and I will be increasing my food consumption when I do my muscle gaining phase in order to lift more weight and become stronger, but then when I go into my cutting phase I will be able to lose fat quicker because I have more muscle. Here is a great nutrition 101 breakdown http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/nutrition-good-bad-better.html And another great forum on incorporating cheat meals http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/cheat_meal_use.htm




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hello! My name is Katrina Wagner and I am a twenty-two year old, living in Northeast PA. Welcome to my Blog! I have a passion for living healthy and I hope to share and inspire this passion with you too!

    Archives

    February 2013
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012