TGIF!
After a long week of work and classes I am ready for the weekend. Sadly I have work today and tomorrow but at least I have less travel and more time to spend with my family and of course hit the homework, there is plenty of that to keep me busy! Since I use my school gym and I commute, I designed a 4 day gym workouts and friday is kept for running outside and doing some free weight things such as my push ups, jumping jacks, crunches, lunges, burpees, and squats circuit. Just because it is friday don't slack off your almost there to a restful weekend!

This morning I made my egg white/low carb oatmeal and fruit muffins I made last week as well, they are a nice snack before I head out to class during the week. They are quick and convenient and delicious!

Here is a delicious recipe I just found, try it out and let me know how it is! 

Egg and Vegetable Muffins
Ingredients:
2 Whole Eggs
6 Egg Whites
6 Asparagus Spears, chopped
1/3 cup Chopped Roasted Red Pepper (can use from jar)
1 Organic, Nitrate/Nitrite Preservative free Chicken sausage link (optional)

Preheat oven to 360 degrees. Whisk eggs in a bowl. Chop chicken sausage into small chunks. Add vegetables and sausage into egg mixture, mix well. Divide egg mixture into 6 muffin cups. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until done.

Nutritional info estimate by Sparks Recipe Calculator
Calories 188.7, Total Fat 6.4 g, Saturated Fat 1.5, Cholesterol 185 mg, Sodium 236.5 mg, Carbs 4.4 gm, Dietary Fiber 1.5 g, Protein 24.5 g

And here is another to curb your sweet tooth for the weekend!
This recipe came from the April issue of Oxygen magazine. I altered it a bit to fit the ingredients I had on hand. The original recipe called for ¼ cup instant nonfat dry milk, which I did not have, so I substituted extra whey protein powder. I am not sure if this was a smart substitute, as they turned out a little crumbly (but I cannot be sure that this was the cause).  I also used almond extract instead of coconut extract (again, did not have). The original recipe called for rolling truffle in unsweetened cocoa powder, but I’m not a fan, so I skipped that also. I did however, melt some dark chocolate chips and dipped a few in – they tasted like Reese cups! 

Chocolate Energy Truffles                 
1/3 cup   Vanilla Protein Powder
¾ cup   Natural Chunky Peanut Butter (I used smooth)
¼ cup   Whey Protein Powder (original recipe calls for nonfat dry instant milk)
¼ cup   Agave Nectar or Honey (I used honey)
¼ teaspoon   Cinnamon
½ teaspoon   Almond Extract (original calls for coconut)
1 tablespoon   Ground Flaxseed
2 tablespoons   Unsweetened cocoa powder (for rolling – which I did not use)
  1. Combine all ingredients, except cocoa powder, in a large prep bowl and mix until thoroughly combined.
  2. Place dough in the fridge for about 20 minutes to harden up a bit if needed (it did)
  3. Using a ¾” melon baller, scoop dough into balls
  4. Roll in cocoa powder (or melted chocolate)
  5. Store in an airtight container and keep in the fridge until needed.
Tip: roll the chocolate covered balls in plastic wrap before putting in with other balls.







Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hello! My name is Katrina Wagner and I am a twenty-two year old, living in Northeast PA. Welcome to my Blog! I have a passion for living healthy and I hope to share and inspire this passion with you too!

    Archives

    February 2013
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012