I am so sorry for my absence in my blog writing, but I took a little venture and went camping!! It was a lot of fun and nice to be excluded from technology and just be in the moment. It was a great experience and my first time actually sleeping in a tent! We had a nice spot under the trees and were surrounded by natures finest. There were many other elaborate trailers there with their families, but I liked the tent experience and cooking over the fire and everything. If you have never tried it, I suggest doing so it’s a great get away and really puts you at peace. Sitting by the campfire at night and roasting marshmallows, and just being able to relax and enjoy the wild. We were also by a small river and the water running made it even more peaceful. I was nervous I would have trouble falling asleep with all the crickets and noises but I had no trouble, and being able to wake up to the sun shining is wonderful. Also, there is always a nice trail to run at camp sites!

  Of course the issue is that you do not have many cooking options but we came prepared with healthy food and cooked on a mini grill and over the fire. For breakfast we had eggs and turkey bacon and lunch we cooked up some burgers and veggies. Dinner consisted of some broccoli and salmon burgers! They were delicious, however we had sweet potatoes to cook but they took entirely too long over the fire. Instead we treated ourselves to some ice cream. I got white chocolate truffle ice cream with dark raspberry filled candies, it was amazing! Matt got a combination of cotton candy, party cake and something else, and that was delicious as well! When I cheat, ice cream is always the way to go!

Yesterday I also went to Knoebels Park and had ice cream again! I know I am really making this weekend a complete cheat week! I had a small bowl of party cake ice cream and then proceeded to help my uncle eat his banana split! It was oh so delicious; they really know how to make them there! The vanilla chocolate and strawberry ice cream was delicious with its peanuts and pineapple toppings. I don’t think I have had one in a couple of years, and everything always tastes so much better after you have not had it for a long time. Moderation is key and when you do treat yourself make it a good one!

Today I have had a little struggle getting back on track. I woke up with chocolate cravings! So I had oatmeal and fruit for breakfast with some m&ms. I know I know I feel badly about it now but sometimes you just have to satisfy those cravings, just don’t binge and get right back on track with your healthy eating! Reading a health article or magazine always helps me, or looking at your goals. Here’s a great link for camping preparations! http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/10_healthy_camping_tips.htm

Eating healthy on a daily basis is oh so difficult but as always I stress preparation as the number one key for success. So, if you are thinking about going grocery shopping, or have decided to purge your pantry and go healthy here’s a good article http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/grocery_shopping_women.htm and another for a budget friendly list http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/the-100-dollar-diet-healthy-grocery-list.html

Shannon Abel
8/12/2012 04:25:08 am

Keep working hard!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hello! My name is Katrina Wagner and I am a twenty-two year old, living in Northeast PA. Welcome to my Blog! I have a passion for living healthy and I hope to share and inspire this passion with you too!

    Archives

    February 2013
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012